Skip to main content
DistrictCampusDirectory
CAMPUS

Jesi Young's Profile

Name:

Jesi Young

ELA Teacher/Yearbook Sponsor

profile pic

Contact Info:

Email:

jesiyoung@jayps.org

Conference Times:

8:30 a.m. - 9:15 a.m.

Class Room Number:

2

About Me

Educational History:

Jay High School- 2003

Northeast Technology Center- 2003, 2004

Grand Canyon University- 2013

Arkansas State University- 2020

Oklahoma State University – 2021

 

Degrees and Certifications:

Certificate in Business Technology

Certificate in Business Management 

Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education with an emphasis in English 

Master of Science in Education Curriculum and Instruction

Graduate Certificate in Builing Level Leadership

Professional Development:

College Board Pre-AP Summer Institute for Middle School 

College Board 2 day Workshop AP Lit and Comp

AVID Reading

Teach Like a Rockstar

OSTP Item Writing Committee 2018

OSTP Item Review Committee 2019

Solution Tree PLC at Work Institute

Google Training

MSELA Summit 2020

Oklahoma Academic Standards Revision Committee 2021

AP Language and Composition Summer Institute 2021

AP Literature and Composition Summer Institute 2021

ELA 5-12 Curriculum Planning

OSTP Item Review Committee 2022

AP Language and Composition Summer Institute 2022

Solution Tree Common Assessments 2022

Current Position:

This is my 10th year of teaching! This year I am teaching English I, English I Honors, English II, English II Honors and am the Yearbook Advisor! I also sponsor National Honor Society as well as sponsor Student Council with Ms. Mouse!

Previous Position:

I started teaching in 2013 at Grove Middle School and taught there for 5 school years. I taught 7th grade ELA, 7th Grade Pre AP Literature, 8th Grade ELA, Creative Writing and Gifted and Talented. I also sponsored the Academic Team and National Junior Honor Society. 

I taught the past three years at Jay Middle School, where I taught 7th Grade ELA, 7th Grade ELA Honors and Mythology. I also have sponsored Mid School Gifted and Talented and Quiz Bowl. 

Family Information:

My husband, Eric, and I live out in the country south of town. I have Jack, an 8th grader and we have Kyler, who lives in Kansas (the state not the town). 

We have a lovely canine fur child, Piper.    

 

Personal Information:

 

I love to read and write in my free time. My family and I garden in the Spring/Summer. It is so much fun taking something from a seed and seeing it turn into a beautiful plant or food plant. 

I enjoy listening to live music very much and also love spending time with my sister, brother-in-law, nephews and my parents. I love finding a good series on Netflix or baking new dishes.